The Via Francigena

Cultural Route of the Council of Europe

The Council of Europe Trail

The Via Francigena, also called Via Romea, is the road and footpath network which began in Canterbury in the Middle Ages, crossed France and continued to Rome, the centre of Christendom.

The Council of Europe trail

The route of the Abbots

The Abbots' Trail crosses the Tuscan-Emilian Apennines in the provinces of Piacenza, Parma and Massa Carrara in the town areas of: Bobbio - Coli - Farini - Bardi - Borgotaro - Pontremoli.